Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees advises the Board on the fundamental affairs of the Forum. Its members are representatives of the most important sponsors and of institutions that are of particular importance for the permanent work of the Forum (statutory members) and represent the federal diversity of transregional research in Germany as well as the international character of the tasks (elected members).

The Board of Trustees receives the annual report, decides on the adoption of the annual financial statement, the economic plan, the discharge of the Board, and nominates candidates for the Board and the Managing Director.

Statutory Members

State of Berlin

represented by Martina Hoffmann, Senate Department of Higher Education and Research, Health and Long-Term Care


Freie Universität Berlin

represented by Prof. Günter M. Ziegler, President


Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

represented by Dr. Yoan Vilain, LL.M., The President's Representative for International and European Affairs


Max Weber Stiftung – Deutsche Geisteswissenschaftliche Institute im Ausland

represented by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ute Frevert, President

Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz

represented by Prof. Dr. Hermann Parzinger, President

Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin

represented by Prof. Dr. phil. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger, Rector
Chairperson of the Board of Trustees

Elected Members

René Aguigah

Deutschlandfunk Kultur


Prof. Dr. Thomas Duve

Max-Planck-Institut für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie, Frankfurt a.M., Director


Dr. Pascale Gazaleh

The American University in Cairo, Department of History, Cairo


Prof. Dr. Birgit Meyer

Universität Utrecht, Institut für Philosophie und Religionswissenschaft


Prof. Dr. Shalini Randeria

Central European University, Vice-Chancellor


Dr. Judith Wellen

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, Strategie und Außenbeziehungen